Cache Update – Massive Fall Update

Completing inFamous: Second Son brought me back to the Cache listing where I quickly realized that it was in gross disarray. There have been a number of titles released over the last few months that certainly should have made their way onto the list. I’ll try to rectify that here.

The biggest change to the Cache is that four games have been added due to a recent 4 for $40 deal from GameStop. Usually that is too many for me to add at once, but it was too good of a deal to pass up. The four games are CoD: Infinite Warfare, Mafia III, Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, and Mirror’s Edge Catalyst, adding many hours of gameplay to the list. Some of you eagle eye readers may have noted that Infinite Warfare was not on the list “To Be Loaded,” but a friend talked me into it. As a result, Infinite Warfare has also moved up to the “Running” category and I expect to have the single player part of the game completed in the near future.

Next for the removals. There’s only one this time around, and that is Mass Effect Andromeda. As much as I want to keep considering that game and as low as I know the price will be in the near future, I believe it would likely be just a waste of time to play. Reading reviews from players I trust has convinced me that I can use my limited time to play far better games.

Now for the adds, and there are a number of them. First, the list for the “To Be Loaded” category is comprised of the releases that have occurred over the summer and into the fall that have been well received but that I have neglected to add. In the last week, Assassin’s Creed Origins and Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus (loved The New Order) released and are now added to the list. Uncharted: The Lost Legacy is the next addition that I very much look forward to playing in the near future. Prey is also going to make the list due to reports of it being a fun experience despite a disappointing ending. Story driven cosmic basketball game Pyre is making the list as I am just intrigued by what it has to offer in story and choice. The last added to this part of the list is Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice.

Also for the additions are those games that have been added to the Cache due to that PSN+ subscription that has started paying dividends. Provided as part of the service over the last few months, Just Cause 3, Metal Gear Solid V, Until Dawn, and Abzu are all being added to the incredible backlog of owned games.

I am sure there are some games that have come out recently that have not made it onto the list, some that are quite obvious. The first I’ll address is Middle-Earth: Shadow of War. I’ll say that I had a great time with Shadow of Mordor and not because it was a weak year (I didn’t play it in 2014), so I was very much looking forward to the sequel. From what I have read and heard, however, Shadow of War took the nemesis system to the nth degree and created a game that had a much involved and deeper look at what that could be, but at the cost of the characters, the story, and creation of an intense grind. I’m just not interested in a game that will take me 50 hours to play through and a story that is not any good. The next game is Destiny 2. I’m very much on the fence about Destiny 2 because of my experience with the first game. I am primarily interested in playing the game as a co-op effort through a “story” part of the game. While I have read Destiny 2 is much improved in that regard, many still say it is similar to Destiny. Destiny 2 will remain on my radar, but I’m not ready to add it as a game I am actively seeking. I will lastly mention Yakuza Kiwami, the remake of the original Yakuza. I really want to like the Yakuza series, but at this point I own two of the games and have Yakuza 0 on my interest list, so I feel I should play at least one of those before jumping into more of the series.

That is all of the updates for now, and I certainly think it is enough. Again, stay tuned to the inFamous: Second Son review as well as more on Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑