Some Cache Spring Cleaning

Every once in a while it is a good idea to go through just about anything in your life to get rid of items no longer of use to you. This goes for your closet, your car glovebox, your backpack, and even your game cache. It has reached one of those times for me, so I dove into the Cache to see what I could do. Typically, the idea is to lean out the list, cutting dead weight in favor of those games of more interest. This time, though, I think the list just got longer.

First and foremost, Ratchet and Clank is coming off of the list because I finished the game. This is always a good reason to graduate a game from the list. A review will be coming soon.

Along the same lines as Ratchet and Clank, but in the realm of “can never be beaten”, I am also graduating Overwatch and Rocket League from the list. I enjoy both of these games, but have decided that I will not leave any games on the list that I will just continue to play now and again. I will be putting together reviews of my experiences with these games in the near future as well.

Also coming off the list are I Am Alive and Syberia III, both for low review scores. I was very much looking forward to I Am Alive when it was first announced, and even own the game through the PSN Plus Instant Games Collection, but reviews mostly describe a game that is clunky in execution and even worse in story. That just doesn’t stand in my book. Syberia III seems to face the same hardship with story and execution. I played the first game and have Syberia II on my In The Cache list, but the typically long play experience and lackluster reviews sees Syberia III removed from To Be Loaded.

Braid is also coming off the list even though I own the game. I put an hour or so into the game and believe it is a very interesting experience, but it just did not hook me. With limited time to devote to gaming, I had to cut somewhere.

Thanks to Humble Bundle, The Stanley Parable, Broken Sword 5, and Her Story were all added to the Cache. The Stanley Parable jumps immediately to Running as I started it shortly after finishing Ratchet and Clank. The game only needs a few hours to run through, and thus far it has been very rewarding. Broken Sword 5: The Serpent’s Curse and Her Story both are added to In The Cache.

Pixel art adventure game The Fall also was added to In The Cache mostly because it should have been there already. Expect to see this one played soon.

Several games were added to To Be Loaded as games that either came out recently or games I’ve been hearing about for a while and just did not make the initial implementation of the Cache. These are Neir: Automata, Watchdogs 2, Quadrilateral Cowboy, Cosmic Star Heroine, What Remains of Edith Finch, and Injustice 2. I look forward to playing them all one day in the far, far future.

That’s all for the updates for now. Regular updates will be made to the Cache as games are moved around on the charts or added upon release.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

